AMPAL re-elected to the board of ICMP

The International Confederation of Music Publishers (ICMP) ICMP held its Annual General Assembly during Midem on 4 June in the presence of some 60 publishers from across the globe. A new Board and Bureaux for the term of 2016-2018 were duly elected.

AMPAL board director Ian James elected to the ICMP board. Also elected to the board were Jodie Ferneyhough (CMPA, Canada); Nicolas Galibert (CSDEM, France); Ralph Peer II (NMPA, US); Kagenobu Kuwahata (MPAJ, Japan); Chris Butler (MPA UK, UK); Paolo Franchini (FEM, Italy); Kathleen Marsh (MPA US); Pekka Sipilä (FMPA, Finland); Rolf Budde (DMV, Germany); Goetz Von Einem (representing BMG Rights Management); James Fitzherbert (representing IMPA); Guy Henderson (representing Sony ATV/ EMI Music Publishing); Andrew Jenkins (representing Universal Music Publishing); Stephen Clark (representing Warner /Chappell Music), and Pierre Mossiat (representing IMPF).

The Executive Bureau was appointed by the newly elected Board with unanimous approval for Andrew Jenkins to serve as Chair, Nicolas Galibert and Rolf Budde as Vice Chairs, Ralph Peer II as Treasurer, and Goetz von Einem as Secretary.

Popular Bureaux and Serious Bureaux elections also took place.

ICMP meetings at Midem included discussion on the European Commission e-commerce package. ICMP is glad to see that the transfer of value (value gap) issue has been highlighted in the communication on online platforms.

“For some time, we have been raising our concerns about how online platforms that use copyright-protected content to attract audiences for economic benefit are not fairly sharing the value generated with rightsholders. In fact, most of the time they are not sharing this value at all,” said ICMP Director General Coco Carmona.

More information at: