2017 Screen Music Awards Winners Announced

2017 Screen Music Awards.png

The 2017 Screen Music Awards winners have been announced.  Australian screen composers were honoured as winners in front of their peers at the awards ceremony at the Recital Centre in Melbourne. Staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers), the event paid tribute to composers across 12 categories who impressed a panel of judges with their work in the previous year.

Screen composer Antony Partos (Animal Kingdom, The Rover, Redfern Now) has taken out
the Feature Film Score of the Year award for his original score for the Australian feature film Jasper Jones.

Elliott Wheeler (Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Aust) obo Twenty Fifteen Avenue Music) won the award for Best Music for a Television Series or Serial for his work on Baz Luhrmann's The Get Down. 

Composer Martin Armiger was presented with the inaugural Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award.

AMPAL members Sony/ATV Music Publishing (Aust), Kobalt Music Publishing (Aust) and BMG AM each represent winning composers at this year's awards.

For the full list of winners, see http://apraamcos.com.au/news/2017/november/2017-screen-musicawards-winners-announced/.

Congratulations to all award winners and nominees!