2018 APRA Music Award Winners Revealed

The 2018 APRA Music Awards have been held at the International Convention Centre in Sydney, celebrating the talented songwriters and music publishers that have achieved outstanding success in the past year. An exciting mix of established pros including Paul Kelly and Birds of Tokyo were honoured as was a new wave of songwriters such as Ben Abraham, Amy Shark, Morgan Evans and Sarah Aarons.  

Among the Award winners, Firewood and Candles, co-written by Australian national songwriting treasure Paul Kelly (Sony/ATV Music Publishing) and Melbourne music all-rounder Billy Miller (The Ferrets) has taken out the coveted peer voted APRA Song of the Year. 

A.B. Original (Briggs and Trials) took out the 2018 Songwriter of the Year award. The powerful duo set the music world ablaze with their debut album Reclaim Australia

The APRA Board of Directors have named Sarah Aarons (Sony/ATV Music Publishing) the Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year. 

The Overseas Recognition Award has gone to Ben Abraham and Kylie Sackley - two equally deserving songwriters both having huge success internationally.

Legendary rock group Midnight Oil accepted the Ted Albert Award for Outstanding Services to Australian Music, an honor that APRA confers on a group or individual who has contributed immensely to Australian music. Midnight Oil embody every attribute that the Ted Albert Award seeks to achieve.  

Finally, APRA Chair Jenny Morris delivered a moving tribute to much respected, outgoing APRA AMCOS CEO, Brett Cottle who leaves with more than 40 years’ service to APRA AMCOS, and 28 of those years as its Chief Executive.

AMPAL congratulates all its APRA Award winning members, and all Award nominated songwriters and publishers.  

For the full list of the 2018 APRA Music Award Winners, see: http://apraamcos.com.au/news/2018/april/2018-apra-music-award-winners-revealed-paul-kelly-sarah-aarons-and-ab-original-honoured-among-peers/